PDA

View Full Version : Auto Tournament Feature

Dragonknight
05-29-2010, 01:18 AM
So recently I had this idea, but since I have no experience with programming, I have no idea how hard this will be, and I personally don't know how to do this, but here goes:

A site feature that allows you to join tournaments with the click of a button, and allows you to record stats and such, and makes tournament managing much easier.

How I think it would work:
The tournament host opens a new tournament, and everybody with a forum account can just click an "in" button to join. By doing this, the forum account records that this person has joined this tournament. The tournament host determines the number of people he/she wants to join, and when the amount of people have been accumulated, matchups are automatically posted, and if this is a long term tournament, everybody that joined will recieve a pm telling them their opponent, the deadline, etc. If a live tournament, then the host will simply copy and paste the matchups. When matches are over, people click "I won" or "I lost", and their forum account records, for example, Rainbow tournament round 2 5/28/2010, and It goes on their record for everybody to see. Those in the tournament would also be able to post logs, if necessary, for the host to view.

I think this would be a neat feature, as it could possibly auto send points for wins, auto update dlt leaderboards, etc. I think this would help reduce clutter a lot, while saving a lot of trouble. Also, it'd be really cool to be able to click somebody's profile, and then see something like this:

Dragonknight
DLT 5/20/2010 Champion
DLT 5/21/2010 Round 2
DLT 5/22/2010 Round 1
DLT 5/23/2010 Round Robin Tie
currently in:
UV tournament round 1
Rainbow Tournament round 3
etc etc.

Again, there are details here and there I may have forgotten, but this is the overall gist of it. This is primarily for Stat, Numbuh, and possibly for any other hidden programmer that lurks our community..