Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Xero's Design Logs

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    ModeratorCascade UserBoulder UserSS Veteran
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

Xero's Design Logs

So back when Super Skarmory Forums were still its own individual thing, and back when blogs were still around, I mentioned that I may do tutorial stuff in my personal blog. Since blogs are no longer a thing, and may not be a thing for the foreseeable future, I decided to stop dicking around (re: I'm bored and have nothing better to do) and start working on this "tutorial" stuff. Now the problem is, I'm not a professionally trained artist. I'm not studying art in any capacity and I currently have no intention of going into art as a profession. Majority of what I've learned is largely self-taught and therefore may be heavily inaccurate or nigh unusable in an artistic context. However, I'm not going to let it stop me from doing something like this, so I would take everything said here (with respect to design) with a grain of salt.

Now notice that the title is "Design Logs" and not "Tutorials". This means I'm not going to focus on "how" I achieved a certain look or design, but more of the "why". Again, this falls back to the argument that I'm not trained as an artist, not to mention art is highly subjective to the artist and the audience. Sometimes the "how" falls down to "I just imagined it, so I drew it". The "why" is much more interesting to discuss. This is inherently a retrospective of some of my past works, with a heavier focus on designs and layouts, than just simply the content as a whole.

An archive will be available at the bottom of this post.

Xerodragon12
    Last edited by Xerodragon12; 01-05-2017 at 04:40 PM.

-Insert quote about dragons here-
    |Deviantart|Twitter|Pixiv|

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)

Futuristic/Sci-Fi Armor 1: Overwatch/Generic Future-Fantasy